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Third Party QEI inspector Requirements 
 
 
TPQEI Level 1 may perform certification inspections in accordance with Maryland laws and regulations. 
Inspection reports shall be submitted to the Commissioner documenting the required witnessed tests and 
inspections performed.  If the periodic inspection report indicates that the elevator unit is in compliance 
with the safety code, the Commissioner will issue a certificate. If inspection results in a violation, a re-
inspection must be performed to confirm compliance for a certificate too be issued.  
 
The following describes the TPQEI process and requirements. Additional information and forms can be 
obtained on our website http://www.labor.maryland.gov/labor/safety/elevthirdparty.shtml 
 

• A TPQEI Level 1shall have a valid Q.E.I. certification issued by an organization accredited by the 
National Commission for Certfying Agencies or the American National Standards Institute. 

• A TPQEI Level 1 shall be an independent elevator consultant, or be employed by an independent 
inspection agency or employed by the insurer of the elevator. 

• A TPQEI Level 1 shall provide the Commissioner with a certified copy of an insurance policy 
covering liability related to the third party qualified elevator inspector performing inspections on 
elevators in Maryland. 
 

a. The insurance policy shall be issued by an insurance company authorized to do business in 
Maryland.        

b. The insurance policy shall be in the amount of at least $500,000 for injury or death for any 
number of persons in any single occurrence and $100,000 for property damage in any 
single occurrence.               

c. The insurance policy shall identify the Commissioner as the certificate holder. 
d. The TPQEI Level 1 shall notify the Commissoner of any material insurance policy 

alteration or cancellations within five business days of receiving notice of the alteration or 
cancellation. 

e. The insurance policy must be kept current, on file with the State of Maryland. 
 

• Inspectors interested in becoming a TPQEI Level 1 must register and be authorized by the 
Commissioner before performing inspections.  

• The TPQEI must notify the commissioner of scheduled tests required to be witnessed.  
• The TPQEI Level 1 must submit inspection reports and test forms as required. 
• The TPQEI Level 1 must re-register with the State of Maryland on an annual basis to include re-

registration application, proof of QEI certification, insurance certificate and fee amount.  
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