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GENERAL INFORMATION – LOCKSMITH LICENSING PROCESS 
 

PLEASE BE AWARE OF THE FOLLOWING WHEN FILING AN APPLICATION TO BECOME A LICENSED 
LOCKSMITH BUSINESS IN THE STATE OF MARYLAND: 

 

1) LICENSE FEE:  Do not send a fee with your application. If your application is approved, you will be 

notified, and an invoice for your license in the amount of $225 will be mailed to you for payment. Your 

license will be mailed to you upon receipt of the $225 license fee. 

2) YOUR APPLICATION: The owner of a business or the owner’s designee may apply on behalf of the 

business. Take the time to ensure that you have answered all of the questions on the application and have 

signed it. Include a passport-size photograph (taken within 6 months) of the owner of the business and 

each employee.  Incomplete applications will add significant time to the approval process. Corporations: 
Do not forget to send a copy of your Articles of Incorporation and Certificate of Good Standing 
along with your application.  If your business is not operating as a corporation, please provide 
SDAT documentation for your trade name registration. For more information about this go to the 
Department of Assessments and Taxation “Starting a new business” at 
http://www.dat.state.md.us/sdatweb/checklist.html  

3) BACKGROUND CHECK: The owner of the business and each employee must undergo a State and 

Federal criminal background check by providing fingerprints. To be fingerprinted, complete the 

Department of Public Safety and Correctional Services CJIS – Central Repository Livescan Pre-
Registration Application (available from the LABOR website: 

(http://www.labor.maryland.gov/license/locksmiths/lockapply.shtml) and take it with you to your chosen 

fingerprinting location. The results will be provided to the Department. Disclosure of a conviction is not an 

automatic bar to licensure. Each reported conviction will be reviewed according to considerations set forth 

in the Maryland Locksmith Act.  

4) FINGERPRINTING: Fingerprints are now only taken by digital means. LABOR IS NO LONGER A 

FINGERPRINTING LOCATION. Digital fingerprint locations are available throughout the State, which may 

be more convenient for your use. For locations, fees, and details, consult the Public Safety and 

Correctional Services website: https://www.dpscs.state.md.us/publicservs/fingerprint.shtml. Under “Find a 

Service”, see both “Fingerprinting” and “Background Checks”.  

http://www.dat.state.md.us/sdatweb/checklist.html
http://www.labor.maryland.gov/license/locksmiths/lockapply.shtml
https://www.dpscs.state.md.us/publicservs/fingerprint.shtml


(Rev 01/25) 

5) LOCKSMITH EMPLOYEES: Employees who provide locksmith services on behalf of a licensed locksmith 

business must be cleared for continued employment by undergoing a criminal background check. A 

separate “Report of Employee” form (available online at 

http://www.labor.maryland.gov/license/locksmiths/lockapply.shtml) must be completed for each covered 

employee. Remember, only employees doing actual locksmith work are bound by this requirement. 

6) INSURANCE CERTIFICATE: Make sure you provide the “Notice to Insurance Carriers” (available 

online at http://www.labor.maryland.gov/license/locksmiths/lockapply.shtml) to your carrier. The certificate 

received by DLLR must name the “State of Maryland Locksmith Licensing Program” as the certificate 

holder. 

7) FIXED BUSINESS ADDRESS: Under Maryland Law, you must have a fixed business address to obtain a 

locksmith license. The following do not qualify as a fixed business address: a hotel or motel room, a motor 

vehicle, or a post office. 
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