Attention Military Veterans and Families - Learn About Expedited Licensing
Maryland law requires the Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing to help veterans and active members of the United States armed forces, including their spouses, to obtain occupational and professional licenses in Maryland. Service members include active duty reservists and members of the National Guard.
2019 changes to who is eligible to apply and when a license will be issued.
See if you qualify!
On October 1, 2019, recent law changes became effective regarding the Veterans Full Employment Act of 2013. The changes expand the definitions of who is considered a “service member,” a “veteran” or a “military spouse” when applying for expedited licensure from the Maryland Department of Labor’s Occupational and Professional Licensing boards. Also, the changes mandate that expedited licenses to military veterans and families be issued by the division within 60 days of receiving completed applications. Read the full text of the changes online.
Now includes any former service member discharged under circumstances other than dishonorable, regardless of how much time has passed since discharge.
Surviving Military Spouse
Now includes any surviving spouse of a deceased service member, regardless of when the service member died.
Current service members and their spouses, as before, are invited to apply upon being assigned to a duty station located in the state.
Who does this legislation help?
A person who holds a valid license in good standing in another state and:
- has received an honorable discharge or otherwise was released (except for a dishonorable discharge) from the U.S. armed forces (Army, Navy, Marines, Air Force, Coast Guard) or on active duty as a member of a reserve or National Guard component of these services;
- is a member of the United States armed forces who is assigned to a duty station located in Maryland;
- is a spouse of a member of the United States armed forces who is assigned to a duty station located in Maryland;
- is a spouse of a veteran or member of the United States armed forces, or surviving spouse of a member of the United States armed forces.
How does it help?
Contact our boards or commissions using the “contact us” link at the bottom of each board’s homepage listed below, or visit their licensing applications pages to obtain an application for licensure. The “licensing applications” page for each board can be found under the “features” section on the left of each home page. At the time you submit your application, please alert us to the fact that you are a qualified service member, veteran or military spouse and we will process your application immediately. Occupational and Professional Licensing will issue your license within 60 days of receiving a completed application with all supporting documentation. Once an application has been submitted, please direct all inquiries for expedited processing to the boards/commissions, or call 410-230-6221.
General documents to determine eligibility
|Veteran||Current Service Member||Spouse||Surviving Spouse|
|DD FORM 214, With Discharge Under Circumstances Other Than Dishonorable||x|| (if spouse of veteran)
|Military Orders Assigning Duty Station||x|| (if spouse on active duty)
|Proof of Residence||x||x||x||x|
Applications for Occupational and Professional Licenses
- Athlete Agents
- Athletic Commission
- Cemetery Oversight
- Certified Interior Designers
- Certified Public Accountants
- Elevator Safety Review Board
- Examiners of Landscape Architects
- Heating, Ventilation, Air Conditioning and Refrigeration Contractors (HVACR)
- Home Improvement
- Individual Tax Preparers
- Land Surveyors
- Oil and Gas Professionals
- Professional Engineers
- Real Estate Appraisers, Appraisal Management Companies and Home Inspectors
- Real Estate Commission
- Secondhand Precious Metal Objects Dealers and Pawnbrokers
- Stationary Engineers
Veteran Education Benefits offered via the Maryland Higher Education Commission
Learn more about Maryland Department of Labor Veterans Services